March 13, 2008

  • Going For Coffee

    Here’s something that travel does to you:

    I’m in a motel room, in bed, typing on my laptop right now. I just got through trying to find the Weather Channel on the TV, to no avail. Now I want to go get my complimentary coffee in the lobby. It is 9:23 AM. The coffee ends at 10 AM (no, really, they’re too cheap to keep it flowing after that).

    So I could walk down there and get some coffee and then walk back here. Or I could just pack up and get the coffee while I leave. And somehow, this decision seems huge. Like the success of the rest of the day depends on it.

    I’ll get there, and it will be cheap coffee, with only non-dairy creamer to put in. It will make me want to pee and poo, and leave an aftertaste of styrofoam hanging in my mouth.

    There has to be a real coffeehouse in this town…

Comments (4)

  • but…but…but…with the intrawebs right there at your fingertips….

    can’t you do a Googlemaps search for coffee….

    ;)

  • Picky, picky, picky …

  • It can very well make or break a whole day, watching the turbulent flow of non-dairy creamer, the chaos, the entropy rising, coffee cooling and losing its ability to do work, the hired help each one requiring an intractably long amount of proccessor-hours to understand in any depth… Happy motoring, guy

  • I really hope you found a good cup somewhere.  

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *