October 31, 2004

  • I decided it was time to go to the mountains for some mental health.

    This is the pond at Gold Creek State Park, up in the Snoqualmie Pass of the Cascade mountains. This is an hour by car from where I live.

    The weather wasn't great for picture-taking, but it's a nice stroll around the pond. There was a tiny bit of snow, and my hands got a little numb holding the camera, but that just adds to the euphoria, right? Right.

    I just want to point out one thing about these photos: My favorite thing in the digital darkroom is GIMP's quick mask that you can paint. Click to the quick mask, paint a gradient, click back to selection, and then adjust curves and levels. It's like retroactively putting a gradient filter on the lens, either to bring things out or mute them, or tint them subtly.

    Or not so subtly.

Comments (7)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment