August 30, 2004

  • I was going to hold off on 'blogging another thing I'd pulled off cassette with the aid of my nifty new cassette deck, but I'm just too excited about it, because it's one of my favorite songs ever. My enthusiasm over this tune is amplified by the fact that I can't find it anywhere on gnutella or any such service, and that's because this is the rarest of the rare David Sylvian limited edition CD singles.

    If you know what I'm talking about, then you already know what I'm talking about. This is a dub of a dub of a dub of David Sylvian's 'Pop Song,' which you simply can't find anywhere, unless you were wise enough to have purchased it when you first saw it at Record Exchange in Houston in the late 80s, and you held it in your hands, but it was an import, and you couldn't afford it, and this was the same trip to the record store where you saw Negativland's 'U2' CD, and thought about buying it, too, but you didn't because you were spending your money on.. well, you can't remember what you spent your money on now, but you were clearly AN IDIOT.

    Ahem. 'Pop Song' is so perfect, simultaneously simple and complicated, dense arrangement and production, avant-garde toe-tapper. Sylvian should be given an award or something.