January 24, 2004

  • OK, forget the last entry about Stump. Last night I went to the thrift store, looking for a few items, and while I didn't find what I was looking for, I found a copy of an album by a band I've been passively interested in, Hoven Droven (the album is called 'Grov').

    They're from Sweden, and were part of a folk fusion movement that happened throughout Scandinavia in the mid-to-late 90s (and is still going on). The real stars of this movement were Hedningarna, and out of it a guy called Wimme has emerged as a sort of underground pop star, but Hoven Droven was (and is) the only band to really rock.

    As evidence, here's 'Grottan,' which is coyly listed on the back cover as a polka, which it is, strictly speaking. And from their web site: Here they are covering 'Wish You Were Here.'

Comments (1)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment