Comments (6)

  • It’s kind of funny how Republican politicians are duping Republican voters.  From what I vaguely understand, aren’t most Republicans FOR more independence and autonomy from the Feds and from government?

    But under this holy guise of homeland security, suddenly we find ourselves immersed in new laws that severly impede on our privacy and consequently our freedom.

    The Spanish Inquisition’s got NOTHING on the US Federal Investigators.

  • I haven’t finished reading the Homeland Security creation bill.  So, unlike the vast majority of others, I will restrain from comment on the thing until I’ve ACTUALLY READ it.  Parroting what some newsie or magazine says is in the bill isn’t the same as KNOWING what is in it.

  • BTW…I did however read the Ashcroft article Homer posted and agree with it overall.

    What about the rest of you?  Putting aside whatever prejudices or biases you may have against the man or his political Party (try it, it’s good for you :grins:), do you agree or disagree with what it says?

  • I generally agree with Ashcroft’s criticism of Clinton’s wiretap policies, and I remember being critical of them at the time, as well.

    I also remember that at the time all Republicans had a hard-on for Clinton’s hard-on, so they’d say anything to swipe at the guy. If Ashcroft can be honestly critical of Clinton’s wiretap policies, then there’s no way he’d be gung-ho for the new homeland security stuff, in particular the Total Information Access project. But of course we know he didn’t mean it when he said Clinton’s ideas were wrong, because Ashcroft is having the same ones now.

    There’s also a myth floating around that Clinton did nothing to stop terrorism, and here’s evidence that the myth is false, complete with criticism from Republicans.

  • I mean, come on Sej. The Republicans are hypocrites in this matter. I have a prejudice against assholes, and Ashcroft qualifies. Not because he’s a Republican, but because he’s Ashcroft.

  • I just like to call him ASScroft.

    Don’t mind me. I’m juvenile today.

    Okay, EVERY day.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *