December 19, 2001

  • An Evil Christmas Wish

    So before I embark on my transcontinental journey, made all too trivial by the convenience of air travel, I’d like to leave you folks with this:

    anole asks, “Am I evil for rejoicing when I hear retailers are having a bad Christmas?”

    I say, “I can’t answer that, but it’s a great opportunity to rant like this:”

    Right near my favorite espresso stand (it’s my favorite because it’s close. I’m not that choosy), there’s one of those Xmas tree vendor set ups. You know the archetype: Some chain-link fence set up in an unused corner of a parking lot to keep people from stealing Christmas trees, dying trees gasping for their last breath, hapless consumers trying to decide if they like conical or cylindrical and how tall, a flocking machine making that horrible noise, a hidden spray can of green vegetable dye to hedge the bet.

    Now, being me, when I see such a vendor set up, I instantly see where all those trees grew, how much energy was put into keeping them alive and healthy for the three or four years it took for them to get as big as they are, the constant grooming and trimming to make them look like something you’d find on a Hallmark card, the fertilizer, the pesticides, the eventual harvesting, the bundling with plastic mesh, the stacking on trucks, the shipping halfway across the country, the money changing hands.

    I see that, almost instantly. It’s a flash before my eyes, across my mind. All I can do is smile and think, ‘Silly humans. All that trouble and waste for something you could plant in your yard and keep and watch grow. You could keep Christmas around all year.’

Comments (9)

  • All that, and then throw it away in a week or so.

    I’d rejoice that retailers are having a bad Xmas if I thought it was part of a trend, but I know it isn’t. Lots of folks out of work or wondering when the axe will fall. Maybe a few will look back next year and realize that having less for Xmas wasn’t a catastrophe, that it might even be a good idea.

  • that’s a beautiful thought…=O)

    i used to sell christmas trees for a community organization in my hometown for probably 7 years or so…was such a wonderful experience because you’d really see the crosscut of humanity. some people would come in all romantic and spirited, looking for the perfect tree…some would come in and grab the first tree they saw…some would wander around yelling at their kids for a half an hour and then leave with nothing.

    and what’s with christmas trees costing an arm and a leg at stands down here? in oak harbor (where i grew up), we charged like 30 bucks for the nicest tree in the lot…last year i paid 40 bucks for a stupid little douglas fir!

  • Here, here, brother!

    There is a place here I’ve seen that DOES set up the way you describe with one difference: they sell live, potted trees. As you can imagine, they’re more expensive, but there is a charity element involved. What it is, I forget. But at least the trees have a *chance*.

    Hopefully I catch ya’ down here in the land of the Green Christmas.

  • I like the idea of potted Christmas trees, then you can plant them later!

  • I so like the idea of having a permanant outdoor christmas tree.  i have the perfect spot!  thank you!

  • I think next year, I am buying one that is in a pot. I can bring it in and out of the house, as I please. I like that idea.

  • I’m not a Christian.  And what does that have to do with Christmas?

    I don’t know.

  • Ex-fucking-actly… well done!

  • Good points. I cut mine down from a tree farm. It’s a renewable resource and keeps the farmer’s family fed. I’ve always wanted to buy a potted one, maybe someday when I know I will be settled in one spot for a while.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment